ITS JPO Home | ArchitectureUpdated November 19, 2015 10:56 AM

Print icon  

Cross-Cutting Research Support
High Level Architecture Diagram Description

High Level Architecture Diagram

This diagram is shown as four colored rectangles representing classes filled with smaller white rectangles representing subsystems:

  • Travelers (yellow): remote traveler support and personal information access
  • Centers (green): information service provider, traffic management, emissions management, emergency management, transit management, payment administration, fleet and freight management, commercial vehicle administration, archived data management, and maintenance and construction management
  • Vehicles (blue): maintenance and construction vehicle, transit vehicle, commercial vehicle, emergency vehicle, and vehicle
  • Field (orange): roadway, security monitoring, roadway payment, parking management, and commercial vehicle check.

They are all interconnected by straight lines representing communications links going through one of four pink ovals representing types of communications:

  • Wide area wireless (mobile)
  • Fixed-point to fixed-point
  • Vehicle-to-vehicle
  • Field-to-vehicle

Additional ITS Resources on the Federal Highway Administration Office of Operations Website

OST-R's privacy policies and procedures do not necessarily apply to external web sites.
We suggest contacting these sites directly for information on their data collection and distribution policies.